Grand Marshal’s Brunch & Award Presentation

The Parade Committee  & guests gathered at the Optimist Cafe in Yarmouthport to honor the Grand Marshal USS Constitution Commander Billie J Farrell and the award winners at a brunch where the following were presented:

Kenny McGilvray Solid Man Award–  This award is given for untiring community support and enhancement of people’s lives on Cape Cod-the St Patrick’s Parade Committee proudly presented this award to  Yarmouth Police Chief Frank Frederickson

Parade Mayor-this award is  given to an individual who has made an amazing impact on our Cape Cod community. The  Parade Committee proudly presented this award to Dawn Roche

General Thomas Francis Meagher Award-  This Award is presented to the individual who has distinguished him or herself in a manner that sets them apart from others. The award is named after Irish Born Thomas Francis Meagher. who joined the US Army and rose to the rank of Brigadier General. The Committee proudly presents this award to  Freeman Johnson- a Navy Veteran stationed on the USS St Louis during the attack on Pearl Harbor. In September 1945, he witnessed the Japanese in Tokyo Bay.  He was 1/2 up the lookout mast of the USS Iowa and he could see the treat being signed on the USS Missouri about a half mile away. 

In addition to his award- and a nice surprise- Commander Farrell presented Freeman with her USS Constitution challenge coin in recognition of service to his country.

The Committee also recognized the “Irish Man & Woman of the Year” – Paul Silman and Melissa Bateman. 

Heartfelt thanks to all our dedicated  volunteers, who keep the Cape Cod St Patrick’s Parade alive and in our hearts, their contribution to the Parade is unmeasured.